BLOCK B “BLOCKBUSTER” THROWBACK

OK, SO I PROMISED THIS THROWBACK LIKE 3 WEEKS AGO BUT I REALLY SUCK AT KEEPING A SCHEDULE.

So here’s my Blockbuster TBT 3 weeks later. This was one of my first album back in 2012 so this review may or may not be biased.

Tracklist

  1. 11:30
  2. Interlude
  3. 닐리리맘보(NILLILI MAMBO)
  4. Mental Breaker
  5. 장난없다(No Joke)
  6. Movie’s Over
  7. 넌 어디에(Where You At)
  8. 로맨틱하게(Romantically)
  9. 했어 안했어(Did You Or Did You Not)
  10. Halo
  11. 닐리리맘보 (Inst.)
  12. Mental Breaker (Inst.)

 

The first track, 11:30, is the perfect slow jam to body roll to. The rap parts are slow and P.O sounds like he just bathed in honey because his voice is just that sweet.

The second track is actually just an interlude and I don’t know why it’s the second track, to be honest. Like why put an interlude there. They could have put it as the intro since it’s actually just an intro for Nillili Mambo.

The third track, Nillili Mambo, is what I call a true bop. The MV is hilarious – at least I find it hilarious – and the actual instrumentation of the song is excellent. When I was still in high school I wanted to learn this song. Hopefully, Kyung got his chicken!

The fourth track, Mental Breaker, had me dead the first time I heard it. Taeil aka the King of Vocals? Also, the beat reminds me of a song that could be in Dance Dance Revolution and that’s not a bad thing.

The fifth track, No Joke, is a rap track that features only Zico, P.O and Kyung. I also have a live version with only Zico and I’m not sure which one I like the best…

The sixth track, Movie’s Over, features a singing Zico. I remember back then lots of people were confused as to why Zico was singing so much in Movie’s Over – he does sing the chorus. My favorite parts of the song are definitely Jaehyo’s bridge and Taeil’s high note. I need to support my babes you know. #JaehyoSolo

The seventh track, Where You At?, confused me a lot when I first listened. I was wondering why the other members were not singing with Taeil. But ultimately it’s the song that made me fall in love with his voice and I have no regrets. Taeil was my first kpop bias ever.

The eighth track, Romantically, is full soul and whatnot. I can’t believe Jaehyo actually got more than one line WOW. #JaehyoSolo x2

The ninth track, Did You or Did You Not?, has a feel similar to 11:30. The chorus is really repetitive and the obvious auto-tune – especially on P.O, B-Bomb and Ukwon’s voices – ends up getting on my nerves after a while.

Blockbuster is a good album and even now it’s still one of my favorite ever. I also want a Jaehyo solo and blond P.O back.

 

Leave a Reply

