RED VELVET “THE RED SUMMER” REVIEW

The 5 ladies of Red Velvet are back as fruits with a red concept. Could you imagine them as fruits but with a velvet concept?

Tracklist

  1. 빨간 맛 (Red Flavor)
  2. You Better Know
  3. Zoo
  4. 여름빛 (Mojito)
  5. 바다가 들려 (Hear The Sea)

 

The first track, 빨간 맛 (Red Flavor), is a track that reminds me of Happiness a lot. It’s a happy track but there is a lot going on musically and in the pre-chorus, it can get a bit overwhelming – at least for me. The only part I didn’t like is the rap. We all know rap isn’t Red Velvet’s strong point and it’s not because they rap fast that I’ll like it. I quite like the bridge though.

As for the MV… It also reminds me of Happiness. I just don’t get the part where they’re doing therapy with the fruits? Also, the things that are translated at the bottom of the screen often have typos in the French section and that bothers me a lot. Graphic design is clearly SM’s passion.

 

The second track, You Better Know, was slower than Red Flavor. I actually like this song more because the deep house beat isn’t overwhelming and it’s simple. The main focus is the girls’ vocals. The inkigayo stage for You Better Know was also nicer to watch than the one for Red Flavor.

The third track, Zoo, had elephant sounds in the background and that was weird. I don’t know how to feel about monkeys and elephants being in a song. The tarzan scream was unnecessary too. And “Love is looking like a zoo”? What does that mean? Friend said it’s like chaos and messy. I guess my love isn’t a zoo. The beat is nice. I’m guessing it will take me a few listen to actually like this song.

The fourth track, 여름빛 (Mojito), confused me. I thought it was a youtube ad at first. With a name such as Mojito, I thought the song would be fresh and fun but it was boring for me.

The fifth track, 바다가 들려 (Hear The Sea), is a song that is more velvety than the others. It’s a good song to end the album because it feels like a walk at the beach while the sun is setting. You Better Know is like the sunrise, Red Flavor is the nice afternoon spent at the beach and Hear The Sea is the sunset.

I’m now ready to see the girls come back as vegetables with a velvet concept next time.

Leave a Reply

